Stiffer fines now in effect for Pa. drivers who don’t “Move Over” for roadside emergencies

Written by on April 27, 2021

Stiffer fines now in effect for Pa. drivers who don’t “Move Over” for roadside emergencies 

By Tyler Pratt

April 27, 2021

Photo by Life Of Pix from Pexels

Starting April 27, drivers face steeper fines for failing to move over for responders to roadside emergencies. 

It’s called the “Move Over” law and it takes over what used to be Pennsylvania’s “Steer Clear” law which aimed to reduce roadside injuries and deaths by creating more room for disabled vehicles and responders.

The law also applies to drivers passing a disabled car with hazard lights if there are caution signs or road flares.

Drivers need to “move over” a lane or they could be hit with stiffer penalties: 

It will be $500 for first-time offenders, $1,000 for a second strike, and $2,000 for each offense after that. And violations also add two points to a person’s driver’s license and can result in suspension of driving privileges and increase in insurance rates. 

Vehicles that can’t safely merge lanes, must reduce their speed to 20 miles per hour below the speed limit when passing an emergency. 

Sign up for our WLVR weekly newsletter to stay up to date with the latest news from the Lehigh Valley and across Pennsylvania.


News

Current track

Title

Artist

Background